Content Item Staging
Content item staging simplifies the process of working with published content items. It is enabled by default and you are recommended to use it.
Without content item staging, any changes made to a published content item are published as soon as they are saved. Users who want to make changes "in private" before publishing are forced to work around this limitation in some way - for example by working on a copy and then copying the final changes into the published content item. Such workarounds are both time-consuming and error-prone.
Content item staging makes such workarounds unnecessary. When a user saves any changes to a published content item, the content item is automatically duplicated: a new draft version of the content item is created and the changes are saved in this draft version. The published version remains unmodified. From this point forward, whenever the content item is opened in CUE, it is this revised draft that users see. Visitors to the site, however, still see the unmodified published version.
Working on a revised draft in CUE is just the same as working on a draft that has never been published. It can be moved through the submitted and approved states in the same way as an unpublished content item, and published in exactly the same way as the original version. When a revised version is published, it replaces the original published version and site visitors see the revised version.